Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Constitution Daily

Zelenskyy Latest in Long Line of Liberty Medal Winners

In early November, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy will receive the National Constitution Center’s 2022 Liberty Medal, the prestigious award that recognizes individuals who strive to secure the blessings of liberty to people around the globe.

The Center will honor Zelenskyy on Monday, November 7, 2022, in Philadelphia, and the ceremony will be available to watch live online. While Zelenskyy is not expected to be in attendance in Philadelphia, his acceptance remarks will be aired during the ceremony.

“President Zelenskyy has bravely led the Ukrainian people in their defense of freedom against Russian tyranny, and his courage has inspired people around the world to defend liberal democracy and the rule of law,” noted Jeffrey Rosen, president and CEO of the National Constitution Center.

The Liberty Medal was established in 1988 to commemorate the bicentennial of the U.S. Constitution, and it honors people of courage and conviction who strive to secure the blessings of liberty to people around the globe.

The first Liberty Medal honoree was Lech Walesa, the leader of Poland’s Solidarity movement. “Liberty is not only a right, but also our common responsibility and duty,” Walesa said in his acceptance remarks.

Other early Liberty Medal award winners included President Jimmy Carter, F. W. de Klerk and Nelson Mandela, Vaclav Havel, King Hussein and Shimon Peres, and Kofi Annan.

The National Constitution Center has hosted the Liberty Medal ceremony since 2006, and its recent recipients have included U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, U.S. Senator John McCain, U.S. Representative John Lewis, His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama of Tibet, and Malala Yousafzai.

Zelenskyy has served as Ukraine’s president since May 2019. Since Russia’s invasion of Ukraine in February 2022, he has been the recipient of the Ronald Reagan Freedom Award, the John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award, and awards from the governments of the Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, and Slovakia.

  • alexander Jacques says:

    what can I say, just WOW! How do they get away with this dishonesty?????

    • mary morris says:

      How? When you are in control of the lying media! The only award he should get is from the devil himself, titled, ” Demonic Nazi Tranny Selected Murderer of His Own Citizens Award”. Other than that, hey is is doing a fine job at placing the blame on Putin.

  • Trending Today


    Chaos broke out in the White House briefing room on Monday after Karine Jean-Pierre had a reporter removed from the room. The multi-minute exchange...


    Paul Grant, who has held roles in two of the biggest movie franchises in existence, has died at the age of 56. According to...


    For her efforts to report injuries to the Vaccine Adverse Events Reporting System (VAERS) and to educate others in her hospital system on doing...


    We should all reconcile with the fact that Dr. Anthony Fauci is never going away; too many people idolize the man. He’s become a...